My First Song

Welcome

Sorry the post comes to you late. I made a trip to the US and returned on 16 June trying desperately to get my legs under me (housework, kids, job, etc.) and then the painter showed up on Monday to paint our apartment. NUTS!

On a positive note, I made two cd’s of ten songs each. Neither of them has music because I did them for demo purposes only. One is to “sell,” a misnomer if there ever was one because you never sell songs outright, and the other is for me to keep and hopefully someday perform.

The man who did my recording for me, Jim Hampton, is excited about my work and is going to contact a friend of his who works at a music library in Los Angeles. Cross your fingers, everyone. If I can’t be rich and famous, maybe I can find someone who is to sing one of my songs. : )

Here’s Jim in the black hat with the red hatband:  http://www.theoriginalsnail.com/

As the title of today’s post indicates, this is my first song. I sat down to write it with fear and trembling because I had no idea in the world whether or not I could do it. For good or for evil, here it is:

https://soundcloud.com/stream

The Silence

I say how was your day
You say it was just fine
This happens every day
Repeat the same old lines
Of the same little dance of habit
And polite concern

Oh I never thought that it would not work out this way

I kiss you on the cheek
Then you kiss me on mine
We’re only going through the motions
Only trying to kill time
It’s the same ol’ dance of habit
And polite concern

Oh I never thought that it would not work out this way

I thought you’d shout my name then slam the door
Leave a note on the table
Said you couldn’t take more
I thought through every break-up story
To its very bitter end

But I never thought that it would not work out this way

The silence is killing me
The silence is killing me

Say something, Love
Say something, Love
Do you want to live this way?
Do you want to do die this way?
Say something, Love

I thought you’d throw your ring
Then we’d have a good fight
We’d make love like the devil
Then you’d kiss me good-bye
I thought through every break-up story
To its very bitter end

But I never thought that it would not work out this way.

Say something, Love
Say something, Love

Because the silence is killing me

Leave a comment