What You’ll Find at The Good Elephant

Slow Soul

Songs, songs, songs! An occasional poem or story–sometimes both. I hope you will find a phrase, a verse, a moment that speaks to you.

The following song was recorded with keyboard and virtual instruments. Live musicians at this point in my journey are outside my financial reality. I have another version of this song, raised a whole tone (I sound like Lauren Bacall on Quaalude on this one) and with the lovely harmonies of my friend, Dani, but the mix isn’t ready yet and I have no word on when it is forthcoming (another of the vagaries of working in the music world on a dime.)

I hesitate to tell you what my songs “mean” because I think it kills the joy of interpretation. Plus, my songs are pretty straight forward. I like to say what needs sayin’, otherwise, I would just keep my mouth shut.

This is Slow Soul. https://soundcloud.com/danette-beavers/slow-soul

Slow Soul

You wake up in the morning with a thousand things to do

You start your day like that, girl, your soul be mad at you

You keep on running, your soul gonna sit down and rest

standing in line at the check out, you’ll find a big hole in your chest

Cuz soul will run by a mountain stream

Soul will flee a gun

Soul will run when the dinner bell clangs

but for all else, soul don’t run

Soul wants to go slow

Dig down and feel the mud in its toes

You’ll ask yourself just where it went, did you leave it far behind?

Just look where the earth is muddy, and you’ll find it every time.

Sit down right next to it, and take off them running shoes

Throw an arm across its shoulders and listen to it sing your blues

Cuz soul will run by a mountain stream

Soul will flee a gun

Soul will run when the dinner bell clangs

But for all else, soul don’t run

Soul wants to go slow

dig down and feel the mud in its toes

No matter if you’re president, saving our democracy

No matter if you’re the preacher, preaching hypocrisy

No matter if you’re baker, baking us all some bread

No matter if you’re undertaker, burying us all when we’re dead

Soul wants to go slow

Dig down and feel the mud in its toes

5 thoughts on “What You’ll Find at The Good Elephant

  1. Danette, this is most definitely a good elephant! What a brave and incredible quest you have begun – I look forward to seeing and hearing so much more of your talent! This is just the beginning! Love you!

    Like

Leave a comment