Welcome

I lie supine in a field of grass. An elephant kneels in front of me and places its massive forehead on my chest. Its head to my heart, the elephant presses down. When I think I can take no more, it lets up. Yes, of course. They’ve told me this is a good elephant. But then it presses down again and I strain to see its rider because I know she has control … but the head is too big. Now I can hardly breathe, and the elephant seems to know because it slowly releases again. Good elephant. Don’t be afraid, Danette. The cycle repeats, and I try very hard to be brave, but I fail: the fear is what wakes me.

I had this dream after listening to Elizabeth Gilbert tell the story of how she began the journey that is the subject of her memoir, “Eat, Pray, Love”. She tells the story to inspire people to begin their own quests. In the telling, the elephant is an important symbol of beauty, joy, and ultimately, of fulfillment. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mc838mBhPO4

But isn’t it ridiculous to wake up at thirty-nine and decide to become a writer? Ludicrous to decide at forty-three to become a song writer? What if I started too late and my work simply isn’t good enough? Is this really a good elephant?

17 thoughts on “

  1. I hope it is not too late. I think I am beginning my writing at 61. I just watched a segment last Sunday on CBS Sunday Morning on late bloomers. Watch it. Late for what? You are lucky to find your passion and brave to follow it. Do what you love!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Never to late to do what you love. I feel way out of my league at times. Who am I fooling, trying to get into the fitness industry. You can swing a cat and hit a personal trainer, a much younger, personal trainer. I am 43. I run circles around people half my age. I jump higher and further. I last longer and go faster. I have a natural form for physical fitness and I have a lot to share. I don’t believe we are destined to do one thing in our lifetime. Do what you love, when you love it, then do something else. I love your work Danette!

    Like

  3. Very nice piece. Loved it. Why would it be too late to do anything? Albert Schweitzer decided to become a medical doctor at the age of 30 and succeeded in becoming Dr Albert Schweitzer at the tender age of 36. Follow your heart and have faith. 🙂

    Like

  4. Good girl Danette! So proud of you. I admire risk taking more than than anything. It’s a very special attribute that brings precious gifts to society. When you win, people shout, “Glory!” And when you lose, people say, “How stupid, I’d never do that.” Silly people. 😀 I will always support you and glory in your work. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  5. Loved the tune and really loved the words. My husband is a great soul fan (among many other genres). He said he could play the tamborine, and I’ll play the hand drum for you. He likes your voice. (Voice of an angel, no less). Hang in there, and God bless.

    Like

  6. Ah, the good old Judge is gving you the go around about finding the the right slot at the right age. The right age is when you do it, simple as that. Now, go tell that to The Judge.

    Like

  7. Thanks for sharing Danette!! I don’t think it’s ever to late to follow your dream, especially a dream you have always been so passionate about!! We all find our selves searching for the meaning of life and our purpose here on earth. But not all of has the courage to seek it out and go after it!!!! I loved your voice anytime you sang. You sang w passion heart and soul!! I hope your quest is a good one!! I already look forward to watching you follow your dreams and know if anyone can do it, you can!!! I could relate to the song and the elephant video. I better start looking for my elephant😉

    Like

Leave a comment